Burn Permits Required Through May 15
- Record low number of fires in 2013 -
Nashville – With Spring drawing near, Tennesseans begin to take advantage of the mild weather to do some outdoor work around the home or farm. The Tennessee Department of Agriculture Division of Forestry wants to remind citizens that if they are considering doing outdoor burning, a burn permit is required.
In 2013, the Division of Forestry recorded the lowest number of wildland fires since 1927. There were a total of 639 wildfires that burned 9,033 acres (lowest burned acreage was 7,110 in 2003). Increased efforts in fire prevention and suppression contributed to this record low, and landowners getting burn permits to conduct safe debris burning played a major role in that effort.
The free burn permits are required in all areas of the state by law until May 15 unless otherwise covered by local ordinances. Residents should check with their city and county government for any local restrictions.
Permits can be obtained online for small scale burning of leaf and brush piles measuring less than 8 feet by 8 feet in area. The online system provides permit access through the weekend and after-work hours for landowners. These permits can be obtained on days and in counties where burn permits are allowed by visiting www.burnsafetn.org. The website is also a good source of information for safe debris burning practices and fire prevention tips including how to protect your home in the event of a wildfire.
The permits can also be obtained by calling your local Division of Forestry office between the hours of 8 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. Monday thru Friday. Permits are generally good for 24 hours and can be issued for weekend burning. Phone numbers for each office can be found in the state government section of your local phone book, or by visiting www.burnsafetn.org.
Once a burn permit is obtained, debris burners should practice common sense while conducting a burn. This includes:
- Establish a control line around the fire, down to bare soil before conducting the burn.
- Notify neighbors and local fire departments in advance as a courtesy.
- Have tools on hand such as a leaf rake and garden hose or bucket of water to help control the fire.
- Watch for changing weather conditions as winds can blow the fire in the wrong direction.
- Always stay with your fire until it is completely out. It is not only the smart thing to do, but it is also illegal to leave an open fire unattended.
Despite the low number of fires in 2013, escaped debris burns were still the leading cause of wildfires in Tennessee last year accounting for 243 fires that burned nearly 1,600 acres. The Division’s burn permit system has dramatically helped reduce the numbers of escaped burns since the program began in 1995. Burning without a permit is a Class C misdemeanor punishable by up to 30 days in jail and/or a fine not to exceed $50.
Wildfires caused by arson were the second leading cause last year, but accounted for the largest acreage, burning nearly 5,400 acres. Wildland arson is a class C felony punishable by three to 15 years in prison and up to $10,000 fines. Anyone with information about suspected arson activity should call the state Fire Marshal’s Arson Hotline toll-free at 1-800-762-3017.
For the number of Marshall and surrounding counties look on the WJJM Website or on
on the TDA’s Division of Forestry, visit www.tn.gov/agriculture/forestry. For more information on safe debris burning, visit www.burnsafetn.org.
Obtaining a Burning Permit by Phone
Permits are free of charge and may be obtained by calling the phone number listed below for the county in which the burning will be done. Burning permits are available Monday through Friday from 8:00 a.m. to 4:30 p.m., except on holidays. Permits may be obtained in advance for weekends and holidays.
Bedford (877) 350-BURN (2876)
Giles (877) 350-BURN (2876)
Lincoln (877) 350-BURN (2876)
Marshall (931) 270-2244 or (877) 350-BURN (2876)
Rutherford (877) 350-BURN (2876)
Columbia Couple Arrested After Shooting on Delina Road
On Friday, (March 07, 2014), the Marshall County Sheriff’s Office received a call that a vehicle had been shot at on Delina Road and that the people suspected of the shooting had fled the area but were in a white Nissan SUV type vehicle. Cornersville Police Chief, Todd Bone, was able to stop the vehicle on Ostella Road with Deputy Freddie Darnell assisting. The suspects were identified as 32 year old, Alex Prince, (DOB: 10/25/1982) of Columbia, and 28 year old, Lauren McCormick, (DOB: 08/09/1986), also of Columbia.
Both suspects were place into custody while an inventory of the vehicle for towing was done. The inventory uncovered one AK-47 pistol, one .32 Mag revolver, and two sealed bags of marijuana were also found in the car with a total approximate weight of 4.2 ounces.
Alex Prince was charged with three counts of Aggravated Assault, three counts of Possession with Intent to Resale, two counts of Possession of a Firearm during a Felony, two counts of Possession of a Firearm by a Felon, Possession of Drug Paraphernalia, and Vandalism. His total bond was set at $129,500.00. Lauren McCormick was charged with three counts of Possession with Intent to Resale, and two counts of Possession of Drug Paraphernalia, and Possession of a Firearm during a Felony. Her bond was set at $76,000.00. Both are to appear in General Sessions court on March 18, 2014.
Later in the evening of March 07, 2014 a search warrant on the vehicle was executed, yielding eight more sealed bags of marijuana weighing approximately 32.9 ounces.
Sheriff Norman Dalton would like to thank Detective Chad Bass, Detective Tony Nichols, and Major Jimmy Oliver for their extra effort in obtaining the search warrant which resulting in the seizure of drugs that could have been sold on the street of Marshall County.
MCHS Soccer Radio-A-Thon Tonight
Please tune in tonight after the 6:00 PM local news and help WJJM raise some money for the MCHS Soccer teams. They have gathered together lots of items to sell tonight on the on-air auction. We have LOTS of homemade cakes and food items as well as certificates for yard work, house work, and spring cleaning. There are some electronic games, a new grill and much more to be auctioned off. Tune in tonight at 6:00 pm on WJJM 94.3 FM.
TO WIN A 4 PACK OF TICKETS TO THE SOUTHERN WOMEN'S SHOW, CLICK ON THE SOUTHERN WOMEN'S SHOW BANNER, FILL OUT THE ENTRY FORM, AND CLICK SUBMIT. YOU COULD BE A WINNER THIS WEEK!
*Remember if you have won anything in the last 30 days you are not eligible to win.
JANUARY UNEMPLOYMENT RATE DECREASES TO 7.2 PERCENT
NASHVILLE – Tennessee Labor & Workforce Development Commissioner Burns Phillips announced today Tennessee’s preliminary unemployment rate for January is 7.2 percent, which is five tenths of one percentage point lower than the December revised rate. The national unemployment rate for January 2014 was 6.6 percent, down one tenth of one percentage point from December.
- Over the past year, Tennessee's unemployment rate declined from 8.1 to 7.2 percent, while the national rate declined from 7.9 to 6.6 percent.
- Unemployment (218,900) is the lowest since September 2008 and is 15,900 lower than last month.
- Total nonfarm employment decreased 2,100 jobs from December to January. The largest decreases occurred in manufacturing, administrative/support/waste services, retail trade, and government.
- Over the year, nonfarm employment increased 37,800 jobs. The largest increases occurred in professional/business services, leisure/hospitality, and trade/transportation/utilities.
State Fire Marshal: Check Your Smoke Alarms When You Change Your Clocks
NASHVILLE, TN – Commerce and Insurance Commissioner and State Fire Marshal Julie Mix McPeak reminds Tennesseans to change the batteries in their smoke alarms and carbon monoxide detectors this weekend when they change their clocks Saturday night for daylight saving time. McPeak also urges everyone to consider the age of their smoke alarms.
“Alarms, even those that are hard-wired, should have their batteries replaced regularly and should be tested monthly to ensure they are providing the proper protection,” McPeak says.
Oftentimes, people don’t know how old their smoke alarms are and if they’re still functioning properly. That lack of awareness can have deadly consequences: nearly two-thirds of all home fire deaths result from fires in homes with no smoke alarms or no working smoke alarms.
The State Fire Marshal’s Office urges all residents to determine how old their smoke alarms are (the date of manufacture is located on the back of the alarm). If they’re 10-years-old or older, they should be replaced immediately! This includes smoke alarms that use 10-year batteries and/or are hard-wired.
Many fatal fires occur at night while the victims are sleeping. The smoke and toxic gases generated by a fire can cause people to sleep more deeply, narrowing the chances of surviving a fire. A working smoke alarm can double the chances of survival by increasing the amount of time a person has to escape a fire in their home.
Here are some other helpful hints on residential smoke alarms:
- Install at least one smoke alarm on every level of the home, including the basement. For best protection, smoke alarms should be installed inside and outside sleeping rooms. Make sure everyone can hear the alarm and knows what it sounds like.
- Install smoke alarms away from the kitchen to prevent nuisance alarms. Generally, they should be at least 10 feet from a cooking appliance.
- For the best protection, equip your home with a combination of ionization and photoelectric smoke alarms or dual-sensor alarms. Interconnect the alarms so that when one sounds, they all sound.
- Smoke alarms with non-replaceable (long-life) batteries are available and are designed to remain effective for up to 10 years. If the alarm chirps on these units, warning that the battery is low, replace the entire smoke alarm right away.
- For smoke alarms with any other type of battery, replace batteries at least once a year (preferably twice a year during daylight saving time). If that alarm chirps, replace only the battery.
- Follow the manufacturer’s instructions for cleaning to keep smoke alarms working well. The instructions are included in the package or can be found on the internet.
- Test alarms once a month using the test button. Replace the entire alarm if it's more than 10 years old or doesn't work properly when tested.
- Devise a fire escape plan with two ways out of every room and a common meeting place. Share and practice the plan with all who live in the home, including children.
- When a smoke alarm sounds, get out of the home immediately and go to your pre-planned meeting place to call 911.
For more information on making your home fire-safe, download and print the State Fire Marshal’s home fire safety checklist (http://tn.gov/fire/fsk/documents/checklist.pdf).
The State Fire Marshal’s Office is a division of the Department of Commerce and Insurance, which works to protect consumers while ensuring fair competition for industries and professionals who do business in Tennessee. Follow us on Facebook, Twitter, and YouTube
Maury Regional Radiation Therapy Services Earn Accreditation From American College of Radiology
COLUMBIA, Tenn.—Maury Regional Medical Center (MRMC) has been awarded a three-year term of accreditation in radiation oncology as the result of a recent review by the American College of Radiology (ACR). MRMC is one of only four medical centers in the state to receive this accreditation. The medical center’s cancer program also holds accreditation from the Commission on Cancer of the American College of Surgeons.
The accreditation follows a comprehensive survey of the medical center’s radiation therapy services. During the review, patient care and treatment, patient safety, personnel qualifications, adequacy of facility equipment, quality control procedures, and quality assurance programs are assessed.
The ACR is the nation’s oldest and most widely accepted radiation oncology accrediting body, with over 500 accredited sites, and 25 years of accreditation experience. The ACR seal of accreditation represents the highest level of quality and patient safety. It is awarded only to facilities meeting specific practice guidelines and technical standards developed by ACR after a peer-review evaluation by board-certified radiation oncologists and medical physicists who are experts in the field. The findings are reported to the ACR Committee on Radiation Oncology Accreditation, which subsequently provides the practice with a comprehensive report they can use for continuous practice improvement.
Radiation therapy services offered by MRMC are part of the medical center’s comprehensive cancer treatment services that include medical oncology and an outpatient infusion center.
MRMC Launches MyMauryCare.com
COLUMBIA, Tenn.— Maury Regional Medical Center (MRMC) has launched MyMauryCare.com, a free patient portal service that provides convenient access to an individual’s personal health care information in a secure online environment.
“The portal is designed to help our patients manage their health by creating a one-stop location for medical information and test results,” said Chief Information Officer Jim Parcel.
MyMauryCare.com allows users to access test results, find a physician or pay a bill (MRMC only). Users may also upload documents into their health record. Information available on the portal can include:
• Health conditions
• Medications and supplements
• Lab, diagnostic and other test results
Information may include services provided at MRMC and/or the affiliate facilities of Lewis Health Center, Marshall Medical Center, Wayne Medical Center and Maury Regional Spring Hill (laboratory and diagnostic imaging). No sensitive information will be sent via e-mail. It will remain on the site in a secure environment; however, users will receive e-mails indicating that his/her account has been updated.
The portal uses encryption to keep unauthorized persons from reading communications, information or attachments. Secure messages and information can only be read by someone who knows the correct password to log in to the site.
To get started, individuals should visit MyMauryCare.com, select the Enroll button, agree to terms and conditions and begin the enrollment process. After completing the sections of Account Holder, Demographics and Update My Profile, the user should select Add a Patient and complete the process of account setup. Allow up to three business days for the account to be approved and an approval notification to be sent to the e-mail address that was provided. Once the account is approved, users may log in and begin adding information to the My Health Records section.
In addition to enrolling directly through the Web site, patients will have the opportunity to enroll during a visit to one of our facilities. In this case, a personal identification number (PIN) will be sent to the e-mail address provided during registration. Individuals may then visit MyMauryCare.com and use the PIN number to begin enrollment. Those needing assistance establishing an account or those who have questions, should e-mail